We Who Believe In Freedom

When raising your voices is this beautiful, how could one hear it and not be ready to answer the call for freedom?

The history, heart and creative layered composition exhibited through the testimonial nature of this song are a wonderful tribute to Ms. Ella Baker whose humility and shared leadership we could all do well to practice.

“To me young people come first, they have the courage where we fail
And if I can but shed some light as they carry us through the gale

The older I get the better I know that the secret of my going on
Is when the reins are in the hands of the young, who dare to run against the storm

Not needing to clutch for power, not needing the light just to shine on me
I need to be one in the number as we stand against tyranny

Struggling myself don’t mean a whole lot, I’ve come to realize
That teaching others to stand up and fight is the only way my struggle survives”

-Ella’s Song, Sweet Honey in the Rock

One thought on “We Who Believe In Freedom

Leave a Reply

